Playing with Ubuntu

ubuntu-100734185-large.3x2.jpg

I’m back with ubuntu after about 4 years and nowusing version 12.04 LTS. This OS seems to be improved a lot since the version 8. There are too many interesting things to do with this one.

– login as root
– joint a domain
– remote desktop
– modify fonts, colors…
– connect to printer
– install Desktop environments
– install and config wine for gaming

You can refer to some userful webs
modifyubuntu.com
ubuntuforums.org

1. login as root

To get started, press Ctrl – Alt – T  to open Terminal. Then create a new root password.

 

sudo passwd root

Next, copy and paste the commands below to enable manual or other login.

sudo sh -c 'echo "greeter-show-manual-login=true" >> /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf'

Restart your computer and choose to login as root.

2. join a domain (AD 2008)

Install Likewise Open:

sudo apt-get install likewise-open5 

Join doman test.org with username Administrator :

       sudo domainjoin-cli join test.org Administrator

  Finally, in order to allow domain users to use sudo, you can add this line to the /etc/sudoers file

      %test\domain^users ALL=(ALL) ALL



3. Remote desktop

you should install wine first to be able to use teamview

4. Modify fonts, colors

use Ubuntu Tweak is a good option to customize your desktop appearance

5. Connect to a printer

It’s quite easy to connect to a printer but I’m still stuck with the network printer in my domain LAN. I’ve already chosen the right cassette (the 250-sheet paper source) but the printer continued to load paper from the manual cassette source.

6. install Desktop Environments

In my opinion, the Cairo-dock is beautiful. I like it a lot, ya. It looks like Mac-dock and works quite wonderfully. You should try KDE 4 as well, it’s also good.
If your PC has a low RAM Memory, the light DE as XFCE, Fluxbox, Openbox, XLDE are worth trying.
I’m using Cairo environment instead of Unity and I’m happy with this one.

7. install and config wine for gaming

http://www.unixmen.com/install-and-configure-wine-to-play-latest-windows-games-in-linux-ubuntu-linuxmint-fedora/

maybe the game could crash, and this is some helps for you

I’ve managed to play AOE I in wine successfully. The game was tested with single player mode but failed when I tried to play in multi-player mode.
To make the game work, I had to place the DLLs in this archivein Wine’s windows/system32 directory. Then, start winecfg and add dll overrides (native, builtin) for the following DLLs: dplayx, dpnet, dpnhpast and dpwsockx, as the instruct says.
Finally, I enjoyed playing AOE in multi-player mode. The speed was OK, although it was little slow compared to directly play in Windows.

A small problem still persisted, that was the game  froze when I exited multi-player game.

I think there should be a solution for this.

get some helps here

Leave a comment